Awesome! I made another one.

PROLOGUE

Time was I used to avoid mistakes like the plague. I've since learned screwing up big time has its rewards, too.

NOTHING ADVENTURED NOTHING BRAINED

I dropped HumanMOOC today. I did so off officially and socially. Usually when I leave a MOOC I just stop participating.

Photo of a bridge's date stone

For some reason I felt compelled to leave a mark of some kind that I had once been there, a part of this HumanMOOC learning community. Something akin to the date stone architects and builders place on their works.

So what did I learn? These thoughts found a home in my brain:

  • My definition of online learning was incomplete. Going in to the course I defined online learning as that corporate look and feel experience where you're a class of one: a learner at a computer.
  • It can also mean an online university experience learning with others. I should have realized this given my MS Ed. was completed online.
  • I had some reflective insights for how I might make the corporate model of online learning a little more human. The biggie concerns media: Less of a focus on high production values might engage the learner to a higher degree. This is because of authenticity. I'm thinking about the photographs and home movies people shoot on vacation.
  • As cool as video and audio can be, the story matters more. It's like that pedagogy before educational technology stuff I learned through EdCamp and Twitter PD chats.

EPILOGUE

Anyway, I have some stuff to try out to see which ideas have legs.

Photo of a sign reading Everybody fights nobody quits
 

 

4 thoughts on “Awesome! I made another one.

  1. I’m having pretty much the same feelings, Urbie! There’s a weird mix of top-down and community in this class which is very strange. This is going to be my last experiment with an open learning experiment that involves an LMS: I just don’t like them. They suck away energy and attention from the important stuff, and that makes it not worth my time. I had hoped Canvas would be better/different, but it’s not. Which is sad, since my school is probably going to spend massive amounts of money to migrate to Canvas from D2L. Based on my experience in HumanMOOC, all I’ve learned is that Canvas looks nicer, but it has none of the networking/community features that I think we need for online learning to succeed, at any scale. Happy learning adventures wherever your online path leads you next!

    • I know what you mean by mixture. My solution to that is avoiding the LMS and top down part. I’m here for the twitter and hangout conversations. My Canvas schedule so far looks like checking in once a week and ignoring assignments I am not interested in (but will follow and comment on the efforts of others)

  2. I love videos but I agree with you
    They don’t have to be expensive or professionally produced by experts. Also while I love videos in general, not all videos are interesting or useful so videos don’t just automatically make the learning easier or better.
    Thanks for tweeting this post.

  3. I usually drift off more or less gradually or just stop — unannounced either way — depending on my level of intention. MOOCs haven’t been around long enough to have leave-taking protocols. No doubt they probably have a place: you may be starting something, Urbie. I’d favor flexible, idiosyncratic but, for now, pass on formal expression. That way I can change my mind. Plus, I have no problem with just having the conversations, making connections and discovering resources

Leave a Reply

