Rhizoming

Prologue

The last couple years I've learned a lot of little things about a lot of stuff. The problem is they're not connected. So the knowledge, if it makes it into my long term memory, just sits there waiting for activation.

Learning by Walking Around

A while ago other one of these snippets of know-how came to my attention: Rhizomatic learning. I understand it as learning by walking around, going with the flow, taking it all in, and thinking and being in the moment. It helps connect the snippets in my memory.

Toolkit

Being a practitioner I think about tools a lot. What tools should a learner out on a rhizome have handy?

Sketch of a cold weather rhizome learner

Cold weather rhizome learner

Epilogue

I'm in DC next week. Snow is forecast. I'm not a big fan. It'll be interesting to see what connections come from rhizoming whilst sleeting.

 

Leave a Reply

